If you say it loud enough, you’ll always sound precocious!

Um diddle-diddly um diddle-lie!

If you have no idea to what I am referring, I suppose I can forgive you…but really?

MARY POPPINS! “She’s….supercalifragilisticexpialidocious…”

Wonderful movie. Wonderful. I love it now, and I loved it as a child.

I had the soundtrack on tape, and my sister and cousins and I would choreograph (brilliant!) dances to the songs and perform them. We played “Posts everyone!” at my grandma’s a lot: someone would yell “Posts everyone!” and we’d all find a wall to hold together while a fake cannon went off, and then we’d go around smacking walls to straighten invisible paintings and put imaginary vases back on imaginary rolling pianos. The tea party on the ceiling that I always wanted never quite happened. We’d draw pictures on the sidewalk (never quite as good as Bert’s), then we’d wink, we’d think, we’d do a double blink, close our eyes, and JUMP! And long before I ever had a clue what rum punch was, I could imitate Mary Poppins drinking her rum punch medicine, then hiccuping, and licking her finger. (“Quite satisfactory.”)

I studied abroad for a semester in England in college. We took a British studies trip to St. Paul’s Cathedral in London. Very few people truly understood my giddiness as I sat on the steps of St. Paul’s with the birds and my tuppence. (Tuppence=two pence/pennies. I sadly didn’t have a tuppence coin, but my two Ps worked out quite nicely.) I was only a little bit disappointed when there wasn’t actually a bird lady there waiting to take my tuppence and give me a bag to feed the birds.

“Feed the birds, tuppence a bag…” on the steps of St. Paul’s!

The other day on Pinterest, I saw a quote from the movie, along with a cutout of Mary Poppins flying with her umbrella. I enjoyed it a lot (and sadly didn’t repin, I’m bad about that when I’m browsing). But I had an even better idea of what I wanted the quote to look like. So I made one for myself, and it turned out almost exactly how I’d pictured it in my head! It will soon be framed, and hanging up where I can see it all the time. But I don’t want to make you wait, so here it is, in all its glory:

(You get the “fun” stripes inside the drab, everyday black umbrella, right?)

The quote was printed, of course, but the umbrella I completely cut out of cardstock/scrapbook paper by hand. And Mary Poppins’s name just happens to be traced in ink from her name on the tape measure: “Practically Perfect in Every Way.”

(Repin it on Pinterest if you like!)

The Google image of the tape measure that I traced came from a blog post that has actually made me love the movie even more. The author analytically and academically (and theologically—don’t think there’s an “a” word for that) broke down almost every aspect of the movie and compared it to Christianity (more specifically, Catholicism). There’s no Christ figure in the movie, but he compares Mary Poppins to Mary, the Mother of God, and Bert to her husband, St. Joseph. And that’s just the beginning. No analogy is perfect, of course, but I’m amazed at how far he’s able to explain so many little details of the movie regarding Christianity. Take a look for yourself here. But be warned: I think it’s literally the longest blog post I’ve ever seen! I’ve gotten about halfway through it, but it really is amazing. (For example: he breaks Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious up into Latin roots and finds relevant meaning for the word as a whole.) I will never watch Mary Poppins the same way again.

In summary: “A thing of beauty is a joy forever.”

I think this film qualifies as a thing of beauty.

2 thoughts on “If you say it loud enough, you’ll always sound precocious!

  1. Indubitably!

    (I woke up this morning realizing that I never used that word in the post…thanks for the opportunity!)

    Yes, I can make you one, eventually. 🙂 If you’d like a decent digital copy, though, I can get that to you much faster. Glad you like it!

Leave a Reply

