Seek beauty, then let it burn!

I’ve decided to give each day its own post even though I’m doing a few days’ worth today. I think it will work better. Just roll with it!

Yesterday was kind of a day of reflection for me. I was able to go to daily Mass (which I do fairly often, but this one was extra needed…), Eucharistic Adoration (sitting face-to-face with Jesus!), and Confession (talking things out with someone out loud when you are absolutely certain that it will not leave that room is a beautiful thing—then you get completely forgiven at the end besides!). I also read a really great blog post. I ended up writing up the last two paragraphs in my journal, and that was what my prayer was mostly about:

What are your deepest desires? Ask yourself very honestly. Come before the Lord in prayer holding onto to nothing and ask Him these questions. What makes you come alive? Be vulnerable with the Lord. What burns brightly on your heart of hearts? What did Our Father create you to do on this earth? And do not be afraid, for He is with you.

“Don’t ask yourself what the world needs, ask yourself what makes you come alive and go do that because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” ~Howard Thurman

A few of my answers to those questions came across in the photos I took that day, and those are the answers I’ll share with you:

Gargoyles on the ambo/podium: beauty in the details.

I want to look at the world with a different perspective, to find beauty in places where people (myself included) might not see it right away. Like in the gargoyles that I’d looked at a bajillion times in the church I’ve attended most of my life… but I never really noticed them until I sat on the floor in the church. Sometimes talking to Jesus takes you places you never thought you’d ever be. (…Like attempting to explain why a photo of a gargoyle is some sort of revelation to me. :))

Another example: My dad was cutting up strawberries and sorting blackberries. The discarded ones ended up in a bowl in the sink. As soon as I saw the bowl, I ran to grab my camera. “Why the heck are you taking a picture of that??” he asked. I just showed him the photo I’d taken:

“Hm, I never knew I was such an artist.” -Dad

I guess what I’m getting at is this: I want to find the beauty in the world around me, then share it. I think that’s one of my deepest desires. And so even though I don’t know right now exactly what I’ll be doing with the rest of my life (or even the rest of this year!), because that is a desire that God has given me, I know that wherever He leads me, He’ll give me opportunity to use that desire.

“When we are what we are called to be, we will set the world ablaze!” -St. Catherine of Siena

Here’s to starting beautiful fires.

~

What are some of your deepest desires, if you don’t mind me asking? What kinds of fires do you think you are called to set ablaze?

Leave a Reply

