A budding photographer after my own heart…

A few days ago, I spent the day at my cousin’s house and helped watch his kids: the six-going-on-13-year-old (she informed me that I should marry her uncle, my other cousin, since neither of us is married and we both have cars); and the I’ll-do-almost-anything-my-big-sis-tells-me-to-until-she-tries-to-storm-my-fortress-then-I’ll-scream four year old. Ah, yes, and don’t forget baby I’ll-crawl-wherever-you-aren’t-because-you-are-DEFINITELY-not-Mom.

During the course of the day, I helped train “Tex the Baby Dolphin” in the pool and quite ineffectively dodged sap deposits while climbing a tree to rescue the dog’s leash (they needed it to catch the bad guys, obviously!). Oh, and did I mention that the oldest had just gotten the cast off her broken foot that morning and wasn’t supposed to be running? (Ha!)

Needless to say, I had a blast! 😀 And although I could tell you quite a few more stories, it really wasn’t as chaotic as it all sounds. Heck, I even got to take a nap!

I forgot to get my camera out until the end of the day. I didn’t really take many photos, but the kids commandeered my camera and took quite a few. I’ve mostly got fuzzy faces and some interesting-ish candids, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that one of the photos is pretty similar to my style of photography. Observe:

Not too shabby, huh? She’s pretty good!

To wrap this up, I’ll leave you with two things I learned that day:

1) Butter (or margarine) takes sap off of skin. (No joke!)

2) I need to hang out with little kids way more often than I do now!  🙂

Leave a Reply

