In which I (or my photos) discuss networking, texture, becoming obsolete and green(!) grass

I’ve been a little behind with my photos. I’ve been out & about, though, so I’ll forgive myself. Hope you will, too!

Last week I went to a few networking meetings and a women’s conference. Good times, lots of new people, and a good chunk of free stuff from the conference! Most of it is quite usable, too, which is always a plus.

I’ve come to the conclusion that networking to find a job is somewhat similar to the outreach I did as a campus missionary at the beginning of each semester: Meet as many people as you possibly can then get in contact with as many of them as possible. Hopefully convince them in the short interaction you’ve had that you’re a person worth knowing. Then continue to foster relationships until at least a few of them become mutually beneficial.

So if you want to become part of my network, I certainly would like to add to yours! And if you know of a way that my design skills could be beneficial to someone or some company (#acareerwouldbegreat), let me know, and I will find a way to help you out, too! That’s what it’s all about! 🙂

Now on to photos for the past who-knows-how-many days!

A flyer I designed for my cousin’s table at the Women’s Conference—the night before! (…Visions of the university Mac lab danced in her head…) Rocking out to Relient K on my cute iPod touch tends to help my creative juices, too!

The flyer on the screen is for an endeavor my cousin and a few of her friends are undertaking. It’s called Fighting for Fabulous, and it’s, well, fabulous. “Fighting for Fabulous gives you life-trained women to coach you and screaming fans to encourage you as you unleash the daily fight for your bigger-than-you-imagined life.” Check out their website and like their Facebook page (because you know you don’t want to miss out on a Moxy Monday!).

And for the rest of my photos…complete with shorter explanations from here on out:

I shouldn’t need to replenish my stock of pens for a while. Gotta love conference hand-outs. I really appreciate a quality free pen.

I love the texture in this shot. Even the dust on the wood grain is great (just don’t tell my mom I pointed it out).

We saw a blimp the other day. I shot this through a pair of binoculars, just to see how it would go. It turned out way better than the digitally-zoomed shot, so here you are!

As much as I love books, I’d rather google something than try to find it in an encyclopedia. But these still look great on the shelves… 🙂

The circle of grass around the dying tree in the yard really appreciates water. It’s literally the only green grass in the yard right now. Everything else is brown and crunchy (see grass at top of frame and my last post). I think the tree is returning to life, also.

 

Leave a Reply

