Type and drought

I don’t think I’ve mentioned yet that I love typography. Or at least I thought I did until I met (read: looked at a few blogs from) people who are completely obsessed with typography. Oh well, you win some, you lose some.

Around folks who are decidedly not into fonts and type, however, I’m a bit of a nerd. It’s not uncommon for a friend or family member to catch me shaking my head over another church bulletin attempting to use Papyrus, or yelling out “Look, they used Optima!” (which I love, by the way) or something similar. My friends and I used to procrastinate in college by playing the ilovetypography.com Font Game—which I think I was pretty good at, until it became the “Rather Difficult  Font Game” …sigh. Also, I think it has been forgetting to keep my score, so maybe I’m still ok at it. I don’t know…try it for yourself.

So anyway, my photo for yesterday is from my grandma’s mailbox. When you find your own name in nice type on  a mailbox, well, doesn’t it just deserve a photo? (My grandpa’s initials are A.J., which is what’s on the mailbox. But J. is my initial too, ya know.)

The birdie doo-doo adds a nice touch, don’t you think? Rustic…or something…

And since I don’t think I’ll have time to post later today, I’ll go ahead and just give you another photo I shot yesterday. If I shoot some more today, bonuses will happen tomorrow!

This is Grandma’s yard. The grass crunches. That is NOT supposed to happen in mid-July in Indiana.

Brown & crunchy. Please compare to the green trees up by the house.

I guess now I can’t brag as much about how much better midwest grass is than Florida grass. Although I still hold that Florida doesn’t have grass, just short green weeds that people like to water and keep short. (Unless you’re on a golf course or you’ve brought in sod. I’ll give you that.)

Dear Jesus: Rain! Please?

Leave a Reply

